Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leaking Water Filter Joint

Hi,

I'm a real amateur, so please go easy. I installed a whole home water filter in my basement and there is a persistent dripping that I can’t solve. The plastic body of the filter has a 1” thread on it, but the house’s main water pipe is ¾” copper pipe. I used a 1” to ¾” plastic reducer (kind of looks like a nut, but with ¾” size threads on the inside) and then a ¾” SharkBite adapter screwed into the plastic reducer. On both joints I just used Teflon tape (about 3-4 revolutions). The “IN” side of the filter does not leak, but the “OUT” side has a small drip. I tried disassembling and then reassembling, but the dripping is still there. Note that both the plastic and copper adapters can still be turned, but I don’t think that’s the problem because the other side does not leak and it’s not on as tight. Since the leak is so small and I will not be covering this area with drywall (I need to have access to change the filters) I was thinking of putting some sort of silicone or other epoxy? Any advice with that?

Thanks.
    Attached Files

Re: Leaking Water Filter Joint

Use more teflon tape like about six to eight wraps OR
    If you want to do it proper, then use plastic in to metal, Male plastic in to female metal. Most of the time if you dont break the female plastic fitting then it is just a ticking time bomb to crack and leak profusly when it does.
    ANYONE CAN TAKE THE HELM WHEN THE SEA IS CALM.

Comment

Only one way to fix a leak, take it apart and redo it. Try using a little more tape this time.
      Distractions are everywhere, don't lose sight of your dream.

Comment

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll take it apart again, use a lot more tape, and tighten it really well.

Comment

Originally posted by mtnman1100 View Post
          Use more teflon tape like about six to eight wraps OR