X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Main drain size for basement bathroom

Yet again. I know. I've been searching threads for a couple of days now and have come up with the (we can't do that honey) excuse I've been looking for, but I've got to be sure.

My parents are moving in to our home which currently has a legal in-law apt. After 30 years of tension and irritation they turned into the perfect couple once my mother got her own bathroom, so in the interest of maintaining sanity I'd like to add a bathroom to our basement where my Dad's room/getaway/mancave will be. I'm planning on doing a majority of the grunt work myself, and my friend(15 yr master plumber) doing design/connections and inspection. He told me to get a plan together and then call him. I pay him $100/on-site consultation. I'm also a well-paid tech who likes to know the how and the why. We've been swapping the same $100 back and forth for 5 years now. Keeps us both honest.

I
    Our town is under the 2000 IRC and the 2000 IPC.
    We've got 3 1/2 baths, 1 diswasher, 2 kitchen sinks, 1 washer all draining into a 3" pvc main drain to a 4" cleanout that then heads toward the septic. THE DRIAIN is ONLY 6" ABOVE BASEMENT GRADE!!!!!!!!!!! I'VE GOT MORE THAN ENOUGH SLOPE TO THE SEPTIC WHY WHY WHY WHY!!!!!! I guess so the plumber wouldn't have to box the cleanout in the floor. OK I KNEW THAT ONE. So back to the ejector pump question.

The 3" was a red flag when I inspected the home before purchase but at that time I didn't think the folks would be comming to stay and necessitate an extra bath and my guestimate on flush units said I was ok. If I'm going to drain into the existing house drain I would almost always need to drain into a 4" right? My thought is to run a 3" drain from the pump to the cleanout and combine both 3" to a new 4" stack.