Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sewer Line and Tree Roots

Hello,

I am not very good at things around the house and I have had my sewer line back up on me twice it was a MESS ! Both times had it cleaned out the RotoRooter guy pulled out some tree roots... I have had the line cameraed and they say I have tree rootes .. I have PVC pipe which every plumber tells me it is extremely rare to have tree rootes in PVC pipe but my luck I do ...

Here is my issue... I have clean out in my garage approx five inches out from my concerete wall. The camera shows that I have roots about two feet on either side of my clean out.. which puts the one side on the "outside of my foundation wall and the other puts it about two feet inside my foundation wall. I have had a cherry tree that was sitting about 6 feet from house on the outside taken out... one plumber wants to dig straight down side of my house and see what is going on then if he needs to get to the "inside" he will tunnel under my house footer and reach up and under to get to it.. I have two other plumbers tell me that is not the way to go they suggest jack hammering up my garage floor to get to it that way they advise against going under the footer ? I am thinking since they would only need to dig a three or four foot wide hole to reach under the footer that should not be big deal ? I would appreciate anyone giving me some feedback on best way to repair this... it seems to me jack hammering my floor right next to my house footer would be more dangerous to the integrity of my foundation .. what do u think ?

Re: Sewer Line and Tree Roots

Do you have post tension cables in you slab? If so jack hammering or cutting will void your warranty. How old is the house? Is the footer thick? What is the house made of?

I think starting outside is the better solution as long as it is only two feet either way.

Comment

here is your problem