Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse

How To Post Images

Want to know the how to upload images to your posts? Image Posting Tutorial
See more
See less

Special alternative for Shower Valve Sockets?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Special alternative for Shower Valve Sockets?

I'll preface by admitting that I'm an amateur DIYer and that I only know the basics about plumbing. I'm trying to fix a leak in my shower and I believe the fixtures and plumbing are all 1940s original. All productive comments are welcome.

I am trying to remove the shower valve assembly from the outer valve body but traditional Shower Valve Sockets don't seem to work. Instead of being a hex shape, mine seems to be an oval with flat sides (see "shape" pic). The rounded ends seem to interfere with the hex shower valve sockets. I've tried several types of sockets (including 12 point deep sockets) and there isn't much space for wrenches. Is a special tool required for the removal?

See the "leak" pic for the reason for removal. Am I naive to think this may be fixed with a washer replacement once the assembly is out? Thank you for any assistance you can provide.
    Attached Files

Re: Special alternative for Shower Valve Sockets?

Hard to tell from the pictures but...

Yes you need a special tool to remove that stem. I have one on my truck but haven't used it in years. I want to say it's made by Savoy?

Once you remove the stem it should have a standard washer.

Comment