X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new jersey plumbing code question?

i own a condo, so i don't have access to an exterior or basement located, main water shutoff for my unit. what i do have is a twist, compression type shut off valve on the cold water pipe near my hot water heater. it is located before the t-fitting that splits the incoming cold water between the heater and the rest of the house. it slows the flow but there is still a steady trickle no matter how long i run the faucet(s). im going to install a ball valve but i'm a novice and i'm afraid that if i sweat the joint of the new ball valve that i might melt the nylon seals that seal the ball. i've found 2 other ball valves the utilize a push-in method. the first i found was SHARKBITE which is removable. the sales associates at home depot, where i purchased it, assured me that this is up to code to use in new jersey. i was sceptical and also went to a plumbing supply in my area.they told me that SHARKBITE is not up to code because it is removable but that they sell a similar product. it's made by LEGEND and is called INSTA-LOC. once it's pushed onto the pipe it cannot be removed. the sales associate at the plumbing supply said that because the INSTA-LOC is not removable, that this makes it ok for use in new jersey. if i decide to sell my unit in the future, i don't want to have to remove anything that doesn't pass inspection. so my question is which, if any, is ok according to new jersey code, or should i chance sweating a tradition ball valve?

Re: new jersey plumbing code question?

You can read the NJ adopted plumbing code here:

http://phcc.files.cms-plus.com/Depts...stratedWeb.pdf

As far as I know Sharkbites are allowed (though personally I would prefer not use them). See section 4.2.7 "Push-on Joints"

4.2.7 Push-on Joints