X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• water heater question

want to replace my 8yrs old 80 gal leaking water heater. I was told there are two different tanks:

Glass lined
    stainless steel

which one is better from you professinal point view.

thanks,

Re: water heater question

Are you looking at gas or electric? Never heard of a stainless heater, but I'm no expert at gas because of where I live. "Glass" lined is very common. To be blunt with you, depending on your water, most of the heaters today are of low quality. If you're looking at electric and want one that is efficient and will last many years(lifetime warranty on tank) take a look at Marathon electric heaters. Marathon was bought by Rheem a while back. Google that name and you will link to their site with lots of info and a video about how they're made. Very pricey, but you get what you pay for. You won't be replacing this for a long time and will probably save on your electric. Good luck!

Comment

Originally posted by richinflorida View Post
      Are you looking at gas or electric? Never heard of a stainless heater, but I'm no expert at gas because of where I live. "Glass" lined is very common. To be blunt with you, depending on your water, most of the heaters today are of low quality. If you're looking at electric and want one that is efficient and will last many years(lifetime warranty on tank) take a look at Marathon electric heaters. Marathon was bought by Rheem a while back. Google that name and you will link to their site with lots of info and a video about how they're made. Very pricey, but you get what you pay for. You won't be replacing this for a long time and will probably save on your electric. Good luck!
      my water heater is an electric heater which is used with a solar panel system. here is the http://www.americanwaterheater.com/p...s.aspx?ID=1078