Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Driving me nuts

Hello all members
    Newbie here from Canada.I would consider myself to be a fairly knowledgeable home handyman but I am no expert for sure.I have an above average set of tools than the average homeowner as well.Not trying to be a pain,just a little backround.Now the problem!This only seems to happen when the cooler weather starts,but not 100 percent on this,it's still above freezing though here.We had a pressure reducer and gas fired hot water tank replaced in 2007.It is a Bradford White 40 gal tank.Now we had this problem with the old hotwater tank and reducer,and it has come back.The work that was done was performed by a professional plumber.There is a very audiable humming sound that seems to be coming from the cold water input pipe to the hot water tank.you can here it in the upstaire and downstairs of our house.It is not what I would call a water hammer noise but the sound goes away if you leave the cold or hot water tap running slightly.I checked the water pressure at the inside facuets in the bathrooms and they measure a little above 40 psi.I measured the pressure at a hose bib outside thta is before the reducer and it measured I think 70 plus.I am using a good quality preassure gauge with the correct fittings.The gauge does point down towards the sink when I do this.I really need a diagnosis and do not want to get ripped off having this fixed if unable to do it myself
    Many,Many,Thanks
    petesoldsaw

Re: Driving me nuts

That could be alot of things in my opinion.

Heat trap nipple in the water heater for whatever reason.

Valve leaking at a toilet somewhere.

Creep in the Pressure Reducing Valve.

J.C.

Comment

heat trap nipples or the rubber check disc at the tank boss.

also if you use a corrigated flex connector like the stainless we use here, they will create a harmonic humm when flowing full force.

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment