X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I employable?

I'm starting to consider slowly making the transition from engineer to apprentice, and I want some input from you guys.

I'd like to start out with a service plumber and work part time for next to nothing and maintain my full-time job for the time being. I'd work for free just for the opportunity to get out in the field and learn if i had the right opportunity. I've been designing plumbing for about 6 years now, so I think I know enough to be dangerous. I can solder pretty good, I know what goes where, I know the code, and I'm not afraid to work. I know a lot of people in the industry and I try to keep a good relationship with a lot of plumbers around here. I don't have any experience as a plumber, and I haven't been to school (although I do have a few AWS certifications under my belt, but I'll save that for the day I want to join a mechanical outfit).

Am I employable? What would some of you (pros) say if I called you up one day and offered to work for next to nothing just to learn? In this economy? Am I worth it?

Any words of advice/encouragement?

Re: Am I employable?

Originally posted by Manning Formula View Post
    I'm starting to consider slowly making the transition from engineer to apprentice, and I want some input from you guys.