X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Green Faucets???

got a call from my brother in law that lives in wis. mind u im a texas plumber saying his faucet water pressure was low. over the thanksgiving holidays i checked it out and it was very low ONLY in the kitchen! the house is piped in galv. but none of the pipe looked bad at all. all the joints looked from the eye to be in good shape. mind u the house is old. could this be a green faucet? i believe it was a Kohler i looked around and i cant seem to find anything!

Re: Green Faucets???

There are some lower GPM faucets recently. The ones I've seen are 1.5gpm. Not sure if Kohler makes one yet though. I haven't ran into it.

Galvy can cause restriction in a single place easily.

Start by taking the aerator out and cleaning it. If it's a pullout spray, take the sprayer loose from the hose and check the inlet side. Also turn on the faucet and check the flow from the hose. No pressure there, got to keep going down.

Cartridge, supplies, stops, pipe.

J.C.
    Last edited by BobsPlumbing; 12-30-2009, 07:29 PM.

Comment

I had a faucet once that had screens down in the cartridge, and they would get plug with stuff breaking off the old galvanized pipe, one had to disassemble the unit pull out the screens and clean and most of the time I would carefully turn on the water at the shut off and wash out the line up to the cartridge, (carefully unless you want a shower), then replace the screens and put he unit back together,

most of the time now it is just the aerator getting plugged
      Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
      attributed to Samuel Johnson
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~