Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another closet flange question

Hi Gents,

Thought it would be a good idea to run this plan past you experts. I’m putting in a new bathroom with a tile floor, and want to get a solid closet flange installation. I have to put the tile over a Wonderboard substrate. I’m not too experienced with Wonderboard, but unfortunately this time I don’t have the vertical height available for a mud bed. The abs flange with stainless ring isn’t glued in yet so I can set the height properly.

My problem is that the raw edge of Wonderboard seems to be pretty crumbly, and screws too close to the edge don't work well. Even with tile on it, I’m not happy about setting the closet flange over that stuff. I wish I had bought Hardibacker now, but it’s too late.

My idea is to make a 7-1/2” square out of plywood with a hole in for the flange to sit on, and screw that to the plywood subflooring. I’ll actually stack & glue two pieces of 15/32 ply, which will set the top of the plywood at the same level (real close, anyway) as the finished tile. I’ll bring the wonderboard and tile right up to the plywood square. This way, the tile will be fully under the lip of the toilet pedestal. Of course, I’ll put a load of stainless screws to hold everything into the subfloor.

Workable plan? Thanks in advance!

-Andy

Re: Yet another closet flange question

andy, not a bad idea, but make sure you keep the 3 and 9'oclock position within 1'' of the sides of the flange. otherwise it will show.

the flange should be sitting on top of the finished floor. flush with the floor would require a thicker wax seal or a second seal.

with plastic flanges and a metal adjustable ring, it's very important to properly secure the flange. stainless screws are a good/ wise choice.

rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Hi Rick,

Thanks as usual for the help.