Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member, Serious Problem

Hello guys,

This is my first time coming to the forum, I am in quite a pinch right now.

A few days ago my sewer started backing up into my showers, not raw sewage, but dirt. Last year I took a big tree out of the yard fo or fear of it growing into my 70 year old sewer. I bought the house last January, I feel like i bought a house that was forclosed on because of the number of issues that we have had, but that is another issue in its own.

When the sewer started backing up I dumped some Root-X down my cleanout and let it sit for the reccomended 6 hours before using any water. The next day it backed up again into the shower, but worse. We tried snaking it last night, we got about 6 feet into the cleanout and my fiance couldnt get any deeper. Today I went home to have a meeting with a contractor for some yard work, when I looked down the clean out I noticed about a half a dozen rocks, big rocks.

Most of the rocks are probably 2-3 inches in diameter, the previous owner filled the yard with rocks so that he wouldnt have to take care of his lawn. I think that when he dumped the rocks int he yard, a good number of them wound up in the cleanout. So my question is this..

If there are more than say 10 rocks, do you think I will have to have my sewer replaced?

Is there any tool that might allow me to reach underground and pull the rocks out without having to dig the line up?

Do you think I am just SOL, and get to have my whole yard pulled up by an excavator?

Thanks for reading my rant, looking forward to hearing your opinions.
    - Cathy

Re: New Member, Serious Problem

It depends how many rocks, what size, etc, but it's likely they can be either removed or pushed out to the main.