Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Air/LPG

G'day all.

I've just found the forum and joined up. Lots of good information and stories about.

I wonder if anyone could answer a question I have.

I stopped using oxy/acetylene a while ago, due to the extortionate rental prices on the bottles. I have been using Mapp gas for the last year or so, and have been happy with it. I renovate bathrooms for a living, so I am only brazing 15mm copper.I find that using two bottles together normally welds brass spuds happily, and even pipes in a low situation where they may be holding a bit of water. BUT, due to the size of the bottles, I am finding it to be not too economical.

I have been thinking that it would be more economical to use an air/LPG mixture instead. I did used to work with a guy a few years ago who had and air/acetylene set up that worked very well, but that would be back to renting bottles again???

Does anybody know if there is such a thing as an air/LPG kit available? I have enquired at BOC and at Reece, and not managed to get anywhere.

Re: Air/LPG

Sorry guys, I thought this was an Australian forum.

Only just realised that the majority of you are Americans. I do believe that you soft solder your copper pipes and wouldn't have the need for oxy/acetylene???

Still, if anybody could answer my question, I would be most grateful.

Comment

For copper brazing the size you stated, air/lpg just won't get it hot enough without a monster size weed burner tip that cant be easily pin pointed on the joint, the heat goes everywhere burning anything close by. If you are doing any work in the wind, it gets worse. An air/acetylene Turbotorch with proper size tip and a B size bottle setup will work well for your application and thats what I would reccommend. Here we buy the bottles so no rental fee and they just exchange them for full at the welders supply.
      Last edited by plumb4life; 05-04-2010, 01:45 PM.

Comment