Why air in chilled water line? GE refrigerator

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why air in chilled water line? GE refrigerator

Sometimes it takes 10 seconds or more for water to arrive and start pouring into the glass.
    Air can be heard gurgling until the water arrives.

Where is the water remaining in the line, going?

As soon as I stop pressing the rubber pad, the water stops.
    No water continuing to drain into the glass.

Any ideas why the line fills with air?
    No water in the bottom of the refrigerator, either.

It is likely time to change the screw-in filter.
    But I do not understand if/why that would make any difference.

Thank you.

Robert
    Last edited by Robert Gift; 07-26-2011, 11:08 PM.
    I'd take an educated guess - but I'm unqualified.
    It ain't just soot, it's paydirt.
    "I swear, wherever Gift goes, argument follows." -Youtube comment

Re: Why air in chilled water line? GE refrigerator

I am not an expert...but I would check to see if you have a small break in your water line just beyond the dual water inlet valve.

Check the back of your fridge. You will see the main water supply line (coming from your basement or cabinet) connected directly to the water inlet valve. When your icemaker calls for water, this valve opens and water enters the line. The same thing happens when you put your glass up for water, the valve opens and fills your glass.

If you have a small leak in the line leading to your drinking water, the water hose would empty out slowly, leaving only air in the line.

So, you ask, what is happening to the water that is leaking out of the hose? It is not on the floor. That is because the water inlet valve is located just above the condensate pan. Which is designed to hold a lot of water, and your condensor fan is designed to dry up the pan, so you never see the water.

Pull the the water inlet valve. Check the hose. Hopefully that will solve your problem.

Comment

Thank you, caca.