X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• moving the drain/installing kerdi drain

hi, i am renovating my bathroom and need help with the drain.

i removed the old tub and plan to install a shower. i need to extend the drain pipe about 2 ft and am planing to use kerdi drain. i live on the 4th floor of an 6 stories apt building in nyc.

here are images of
    1. how it was before
    Click image for larger version

Name:	99aaf1202dcb4c7016910ca549ed4f58.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	11289

2. photo of the stacks running through my wall

Name:	d4809dbce940f7c4aeab27b757e7ff65.jpg
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	11291

3. what i am planning to do
    (cut drain pipe + fernco + p-trap + kerdi drain)

Name:	668131a7eef24403492e23a7721d806f.jpg
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	11290

is this a good plan?

i am new to plumbing and need all the feedback and help i can get.

thanks,

Tom

Re: moving the drain/installing kerdi drain

no fernco. why not hire a licensed plumber to put in drain. you know if you screw up the cast in the wall you are up the creek without a paddle. hugely expensive to fix. your call. breid............

Comment

6 story apartment building with wood joists? WOW!

Comment

1920's

have they had lots of problems in the building with leaks? i would think they are going to have a major repipe coming up.

rick.
        phoebe it is

Comment

do it

Comment

thanks to all for replies.

this is an early 1900s building in nyc.

i can not hire a licensed plumber since i am on a budget.

as i can see in my ceiling, they did exactly what i am planning to do in the apt above and i had no leaks from there for over 2 years.

why no fernco? why would cutting the pipe as shown in my drawing/photo screw up cast iron?

what would be an alternative solution?

or is this a good plan as LThompson seems to suggest?

i am confused with mixed replies. any specific information will be greatly appreciated.

thank you.