Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse

How To Post Images

Want to know the how to upload images to your posts? Image Posting Tutorial
See more
See less

Who knows about these Ridge soil pipe cutters?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who knows about these Ridge soil pipe cutters?

Sure, I've read the Soil Pipe Cutter Tool Capacity/Selection chart, but, not being a professional plumber, I'm not certain about what it's telling me.
    Here's the story, I've got an 1885 house with the big old cast iron drain pipes in the basement(cellar), that I'm looking forward to removing. It's 6" dia. tops. The chart states that they can all cut no hub cast iron soil pipe. However, the fittings I've got all have one larger end, for the next piece to fit into. So, am I correct to assume that I have hubbed stuff here? Could it be possible that it still might be "service weight cast iron soil pipe"? I haven't a clue what that refers to. The next problem- there's not actually any straight pipe exposed to cut. It's a wye right out of the ground- in a raised crawl space area, with two more wyes on top of that. And that's all the room there is. So, what the problem is, is I must actually cut the wye, where it's straight enough to attach the new pipes to. The model 206 states that it's basically made to cut "lighter wall pipe". Am I correct to assume that back when this stuff was made, they hadn't even considered "light wall" pipes yet?

Basically, the most important question that I need answered, would be- can the 206 cut an old wye, or must I go for the 246, assuming that that one could handle it?
    Thanks!

Re: Who knows about these Ridge soil pipe cutters?

Use a cast iron blade in a reciprocating saw.

J.C.

Comment

or an angle grinder with a cutting blade.....

Comment

Or a sledge hammer
        sigpic

Comment