Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laundry Room Remodel Plumbing Question

Hello,
    I recently bought my first home that is in need of a lot of upgrades and repairs. I have been working in the construction industry for a few years now but plumbing is not my specialty. I'm not exactly sure what I should do with my problem but this seems like the best place to find the answers on doing it the right way.

Anyways, Here is my problem. I had a leak coming from the existing washing machine box(actually the gate valves were the part leaking). So I have decided to replace the unit. The new unit I have bought has 2 quarter turn ball valves and a 2" drain connection. The problem I've having is I'm not sure what to do about the existing drain. It is 1 1/2" Copper that enters into a Cast Iron Tee. The vent pipe is either ABS or PVC.

I need to find out the best option to dealing with the copper pipe. Should I use a fernco fitting to make the transition from PVC to Copper? Re-do the copper section in PVC? Remove the Cast-Iron fitting and replace with PVC? Or any other suggestions?

I have attached a photo for reference. Thanks a lot for the help!
    Attached Files

Re: Laundry Room Remodel Plumbing Question

Welcome and thanks for the pic.

Looks like a fernco in your future or a no-hub connector.

Comment

actually with the wall open, laundry requires a 2'' trap and standpipe. along with 2'' waste pipe. looks like the waste stack is 2'' already.

i would cut out the tapped san tee and replace it with a 2'' san tee. then run the 2'' to a new trap and standpipe. nothing wrong with abs or no hub. personally abs will stay clean a lot longer than no hub.

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment

Originally posted by jtotherod View Post
        Hello,