change careers?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• change careers?

I currently work as a lead hand in steel manufacturing. I have been there for 12 years and make $25 an hour. I have recently been accepted into the Plumbing Union in Ontario Canada. Should I take the plumbing apprenticeship or stay with my current job of 12 years?
    The plumbing aprenticeship will require me to travel a bit farther to different job sites and also has periods of unemployment durring slow times but the earning potential is $33 an hour after completion of the apprenticeship. My current job is steady and has alot of overtime but seems to be a dead end job paying only $25 an hour with small infrequent raises.

ho

it ain't the money. i repeat it ain't the money. what is the drive here? which would you rather do? being a plumber is very different from a steel mill. if it's just the $8.00 bucks. why bother? you have 12 years in at the mill. it can't be that bad. sit down and make a list of the positives of both jobs. you will have to guess at the plumbing ones. can you live without the promise of a regular check? you need to really think about the check thing. most people don't react well to the idea of a hit or miss check. you will learn to save money. i'm self employed. i thrive on living by my wits. my wife learned to. i don't know what you do at the mill but plumbing is pretty physical. breid................

Comment

Re: ho

my job is pretty physical so no worries there. I guess my biggest concern it leaving a stable job for one that may not be as stable. I hear the union will layoff workers in a heartbeat. I have a mortgage and two kids to look after.

Comment

Re: change careers?

I do not care what one does MOST all become work at some time, you may like one thing better, or place to work but in time the new will wear off and the excitement will be less,

IN my area I would love to be making $25 and no cost out of that,