X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pex tubing oder

I'm a home inspector with 3,000+ home inspections under the belt. Inspected a 5 year old house today which has been vacant for ~ 1 year. Over 90% of the supply plumbing was Pex or equivalent. The water from every tap in the house smelled like rotten eggs. Is there a sulpher component in the tubing which would cause that smell? Would it diminish by just running the water? I didn't know what to tell the home buyers and they're needless to say, concerned. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Pex tubing oder

Originally posted by ralphll View Post
    I'm a home inspector with 3,000+ home inspections under the belt. Inspected a 5 year old house today which has been vacant for ~ 1 year. Over 90% of the supply plumbing was Pex or equivalent. The water from every tap in the house smelled like rotten eggs. Is there a sulpher component in the tubing which would cause that smell? Would it diminish by just running the water? I didn't know what to tell the home buyers and they're needless to say, concerned. Any help appreciated. Thanks.
    Public water or priviate well? Hot and cold both smell? Google water heater and rotten egg smell together. Get the bleach out......you need some chlorine.

On a side note I had a call from a realtor yesterday that had a flooded house. the home inspector came to inspect the home prior to sale.....he turned the water meter on t the curb out front and proceeded to check the home over.....meanwhile the drain valve to the water heater was left on.......IN THE ATTIC

Then he attempted to tell the realtor the water heater was leaking due to a bad tank.....he spilled the beans after i called him asking WTF happened because the water heater has been holding pressure for an hr and not leaking for me. Another case closed by the plumbing detective