X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tankless question and shower valves.

i guess my p.m box is full so now i'm getting visitor messages.

i have no problem responding to your question, but the forum is for all to learn from and give advise to. so i'm posting the queston for all to see, learn from and give their pro opinion on.

guys, have at it.

Hi Rick,

A little advice / knowledge would be appreciated. As a former General Contractor, i have ordered a Rinnai 94LSI hot water heater - Northeast PA 1.5 baths in house.

I am asking this in advance of installing the Water heater, as people are having problems with hot water at shower. Aside from some of those people having an undersized unit, some problems may be related to the Pressure Balance control of the single handle tub / shower unit.

My concern is that the tub / shower faucet may be the wrong type for the tankless unit. Could you give me a little advice on what types of faucet setup would be best for my bath - ie. pressure balance, thermostatically controlled or any particular brand / model? Any other advice regarding the general concern would be helpful.

Craig

craig, the big issue is the temperature differential from incoming to outgoing. aka the delta. depending on your winter ground water temperatures and demand, a tankless might not be a wise choice for the cold country.

i would think a thermostatic valve would perform better than a pressure balance valve for your application. but remember that they cost more and are more temperamental.

rick.
    phoebe it is

Re: tankless question and shower valves.

The 9.4 unit will work but you may only get to use one or two fixtures at a time depending on how cold the incoming water is. The tankless will work with ANY shower valve,that doesn't matter. Make sure the gas line is sized to handle the unit firing under full load. Calculate your delta-t.