Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Km1500

Folks,

I inherited a Ridgid KM1500, perhaps 40 years old, with some C-11 and C-14 sections. I am new to sectional machines, have used drums from time to time, and I am not a prof plumber or drain surgeon. A few ques:

1) Anything this machine is particularly good or bad at? Any tooling that I should buy or avoid? (It came with no cutters or spades.)
    2) Anything I should look at in its mechanicals? I will take it apart and make sure it is well lubed. I assume parts are still available; I see K1500 machines still for sale by Ridgid, but not the KM1500, not sure if there is much difference.
    3) Is this machine still used much today by drain/sewer folks?
    4) I notice the C-11 cables do not appear to be welded at their connectors, is this machine safe to run in reverse with these cables? (connectors won't spin off?)

Thanks,
    Bert

Re: Km1500

I bought my first KM1500 in 1976 and is still going and still use it on same occasions as I have another later model one I have had a couple of reconditioned motor and parts over the last 36 years I`d strip it down check the parts for wear and tear order new ones have the motor checked and it will go forever if you look after it

Tony

Comment

the cables are welded the ends. reverse is typically used to free a stuck cable.

but i use it all the time in reverse on both my 7/8 and 1.25'' cables with my reverse auger.

cleaning the machine is pretty basic by removing the 4 end bolts on the front cover. basically there are 3 jaws that are a wear and tear component. there is also some adjustment that can be done on the rear cone.

i'll post a link to the k-1500 for you to get the owners manual and parts breakdowns.

http://www.ridgid.com/ASSETS/4635446...A_B_SP_Man.pdf

http://www.ridgid.com/ASSETS/21D197B...0A_B_SP_PL.pdf

rick.

Ridgid Kollmann KM-1500 Low Boy Drain Cleaner | eBay