X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• add subfloor on basement bathroom

I am thinking about adding insulation and subfloor on the basement bathroom floor like other rooms, which will rise the floor level about 2". Do I have to break concrete floor to redo the riser? Can I use the attached flange to avoid modifying riser?
    Attached Files

Re: add subfloor on basement bathroom

What kind of insulation is on the rest of the basement floor? Why not put in an electric infloor heat system and a self level pour. Then install your flooring over that?

Comment

Originally posted by thisnewowner View Post
      I am thinking about adding insulation and subfloor on the basement bathroom floor like other rooms, which will rise the floor level about 2". Do I have to break concrete floor to redo the riser? Can I use the attached flange to avoid modifying riser?
      Being a plumber, I wouldn't. Why raise the floor? You have a sturdy base to put down any finished floor aside from real hardwood.
      AllurePlumbing.com
      • leak detection
      • drain cleaning
      • utility locating
      • conductor fault locating
      • and other specialties.

Greensboro NC, Winston-Salem NC, High Point NC, Thomasville NC, Kernersville NC

Comment

10 mil vapor barrier + 1" foam board insulation + 23/32" subfloor.

Comment

Being in Boston You probably have a hydronic boiler. If so have Your heat Guy add some baseboard heat. Nice warm pot to watch the Sox.
          I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Comment

I wouldn't raise the floor either.

You can install electric radiant heat under tile, if you're worried about cold floors.

Comment

Originally posted by thisnewowner View Post
              10 mil vapor barrier + 1" foam board insulation + 23/32" subfloor.
              This will trap moisture & cause the subfloor to rot. Like Flux said put electric radiant in.