X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shower pan inspection.... really?

You have got to be kidding me... So, is this a bullsquat rule that our local Minneapolis board decided to implement? I just did a bathroom in a brand new home in Minneapolis, home owner is the general contractor. I've never done a shower in mpls before, and never ever needed a shower pan inspection in the past 8 years I've been doing this. Plumber or home owner never mentioned anything to me about it, not sure they were aware as the plumber doesn't usually work in mpls either. Anyway, inspector came to do a final and is not passing it due to no pan inspection. I haven't used a "pan liner" in over 2 years due to the, let's be frank, archaic nature, there's better options. Anyway, my base is backer board that is sloped(I'll show you pics later, i can't post them from my phone) and then 5 coatings of Redgard applied with a 1 1/2 nap roller. Corners have tile backer tape imbedded between layers 2 and 3 to increase strength. It's also a curbless shower, so the entire floor was coated including taped corners and coated up 3" on the wall (tile base) just for the heck of it. I'm kind of worried, but I did take pics, and I know redgard is approved for that use.... Am I screwed? I wasn't there, so I need to give him the pics and the redgard specs.

Re: shower pan inspection.... really?

don't know anything about redguard. but a typical shower pan is water proofed up 12'' from the floor with solid backing and then over the threshold to the outside.

shower pans are under our plumbing permit out here.

of course the sub floor under the drain has to be sloped to the drain.

hopefully he'll accept your photos and the installation is code approved. otherwise it's not going to be pretty.

rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment