X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soldering 3/4 pipe Tees?

Would a Oxy/LP set up work? What tip size would be required? Would a prest-o-lite torch be fare superior?

Re: Soldering 3/4 pipe Tees?

A standard Bernzomatic type propane torch will work, (no it not the ideal) and with mapp gas better, (I know I am not a pro) but I jsut use a large LP air set up made by Smith, I have more than enough heat,

to answer the question the Oxy propaine set will work,
    one of the problems I see unless you have heating tip, is that the normal "welding" tips, many time are all most to concentrated, keep some distance, and one should be fine,
    I use propane in my cutting torches in the shop and on the welding truck, the tip I use to heat and solder plumbing is jsut propane and air, its like a large bernsomatic torch, head, it came with my set,

your presto lite torch seems to be a standard in a lot of the plumbing world, for soldering,
    Last edited by BHD; 08-19-2012, 08:23 PM.
    Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
    attributed to Samuel Johnson
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    PUBLIC NOTICE: Due to recent budget cuts, the rising cost of electricity, gas, and oil...plus the current state of the economy............the light at the end of the tunnel, has been turned off.

Comment

Thanks, What size heating tip would be recommended? I think the smallest I can get is a size #6 rosebud maybe a #4.

Comment

Originally posted by rodm1 View Post
        Thanks, What size heating tip would be recommended? I think the smallest I can get is a size #6 rosebud maybe a #4.