X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What the...?

Ok, I've been a plumber for quite a few years now, licensed, and out on my own for 4 years. Today I saw something I have NEVER seen before... The home owner has a custom cabinet company come in and build, on site a complete set of cabinets, they are beautiful, he also has an independent counter top company from Miami come in and install new granite counter top, with an under mounted S.S. twin sink. Total measurement from counter top to bottom of sink is 10 inches. The problem is... The cabinet guys pinned and glued the cabinets in place, the counter guys epoxied the S.S. sink under the counter top, and also epoxied over the 4 sink mounts they installed. The waste arm is 22 inches above finished floor, the S.S. sink bottom is 20 inches from finished floor. How does the sink drain, when the trap adaptor is 2 inches above the bottom of the sink? Oh, and there is a dishwasher, so the dishwasher tail piece puts the center outlet drain system even lower than the sink bottom... homeowner is scratchin his head, and, I hate to say it, but deep down inside, I'm laffin' my a*s off. Any suggestions? This is a house that was built here in the Keys in 1957, solid concrete walls, and copper waste arms, to Cast Iron drain system. the trap adaptor at the waste arm is 3 feet from the cast iron stack, and all behind the permenantly installed cabinets... and in a poured concrete wall...
    Last edited by Tropic Plumber; 02-10-2013, 12:35 PM.

Re: What the...?

Though wall surgery is always best done before the cabinets go in, it's still an option. It's just makes a mess (and an unnecessary expense) at this point in the game.

Comment