Dain clearing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dain clearing

I have been plumbing for many years but have very little experience in drain work. I have decided to branch out into the sewer/drain clogging service calls and have a pretty dumb question. I just recenlty looked into jetters and was curious about a line that is completely under water. I ran the camera down and I lose visual because I am fully submerged for several feet. My question: When you run into something like this can you run the jetter or is it worthless under water? Do I need to stick with a auger in this situation. Any advice is appreciated

Re: Dain clearing

Myself, I prefer snaking a stopped up line first.
    If you introduce water under pressure into a line that is already full of water,
    and it doesn't break the stoppage, then where will all that water go?

Comment

im no jetting expert but it goes the same place it always does - in the direction of the jets. Mr. AZ Plumb - if you have no experience in rough installations or how the plumbing is run you may want to consider a year or two with an expert before getting into jetting. Knowing "the HOW things are run" is a very important part of knowing HOW to run a jetter system.
      ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Comment

I should have been more clear. The line is fine for nearly 30' then there is water. It can be many things, a clogged pipe, a break. a root invasion etc. I would be able to run water for a long time before it would back up. I am just curious as to whether a jetter is affective under water. I will just use a snake first. I was told I could ask questions on here without people trying to humilate me or sound superior.

Comment

Thank you Big Jim

Comment

Originally posted by AZ Plumb View Post