Tankless water heaters

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tankless water heaters

I saw in the past a topic about how bad are the tankless water heaters. I am new in WA State and some people, here in the condominium, are asking for replacement of the conventional water heaters for tankless ones (natural gas all of them) As I wrote in the past, I retired for many years and enter back recently in the market and trying to pass the exam , and I don't have the experience with those tankless heaters, so are those good now? Also, do the manufacturers give classes about?

Biggest issue with a swap out is the gas is typically undersized, 40,000 btu tank to 199,000 tankless.

The other thing is proper venting material. B vent is not approved , you need stainless catagory c or pvc venting.

forget about ever breaking even on the gas savings. Only thing green about them is the cash going into your pocket from their wallet.

Rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Whoa! I really love the mentors here! All water heaters here are direct vents, so I think it will be complicate because the buildings are 3 floors and the vents run inside the walls.

Comment

the only benefit of tankless is endless hot water. BUT only if it's properly commissioned. Some tankless will only accept stainless or polypropylene venting and NOT pvc.
        ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Comment

I'm a plumbing contractor and built a new house with a top of the line Navien tankless. Works great. LP or NG compatible, 1/2" gas line, 2" PVC vent. I have natural gas, I ran 1" gas pipe to the tankless though and ran a horizontal vent. Josh

Comment

Originally posted by Plumber Punky View Post
            the only benefit of tankless is endless hot water. BUT only if it's properly commissioned. Some tankless will only accept stainless or polypropylene venting and NOT pvc.