X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• THREADING STEEL PIPE

I am a small mech contractor. I am, for the most part, a self taught pipe fitter. I have fitted more than 100 small pipe jobs. I offer this service everyday to my customers. I have been fitting pipe professionally for over 10 years. I raerly have leaks. However, there are still many of the deeper things about threading I would like to know, i.e., when can you tell when the dies are due to be replaced. How often should I change my cutting oil. I am looking for a manual that answeres some of these type of questions.

p@1503,

There are a couple of things to consider with die life. Those include but are not limited too hand threading, power threading, high speed power threading, condition of threading oil, type of pipe and size of pipe.

What I would recommend would be to physically check your dies before each use. If you see chips in the dies it is time to change them. You will also notice damaged or dull dies will start to tear threads.

As for the oil you change it when it becomes dirty or contaminated. When you are threading it is normally in a dirty environment and you get dirt into your oil. I also have a problem with getting pipe joint compound in my oil from making up fittings on the machine.

Usually if you oil starts to smell bad and thicken you are ready to change it. Of course my old rough-in trucks use to spill so much oil all I had to do was replenish what oil spilled and it stayed clean. However, it sure made a mess of the trucks.

Mark

[ 07-22-2005, 10:48 AM: Message edited by: ToUtahNow ]
    "Somewhere a Village is Missing Twelve Idiots!" - Casey Anthony

I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!

Comment

ToUtahNow pretty much summend it up. The physical inspection need not take more than a few seconds. It will be obvious when you see the chipped die.

For the really deep things you need to see a yoga master. J/K