Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• some one misrepresenting tools as RIDGID.

Hello my name is Thomas,
    I just Paid $138.00 for what I believed was a RIDGID TYPE 418 NEW OILER.
    I am 51 years old and have been with plumbing since " 87. Before that I was a Manufacturing engineer.Before that a tool designer,and before that a tool and die maker.I am familiar with tooling.
    Please go to www.ebay.com/
    go to search and key in : 3863978324
    and : 3861248520
    Those are item numbers.
    If you don't see this as, representing, a RIDGID TOOL, than I simply stand alone on this issue. Now that I look criticaly at this item I see that it doesn't say RIDGID on the side.I have purchased every thing on ebay from a new RIDGID 3800 drain mach. to simple cutters.I've simply trusted the name.Please go to the web site and see for yourself.Now as I read it more criticaly, yet,I see that at the very least, they're saying it is built with all RIDGID parts,or equivelent.
    I know what this terminology meant when I worked as an engineer.The item they're selling is worth about $5.00 five dollars.And I don't say this out of anger,I am speeking from experience.I use, Olny, RIDGID tools where ever they can be
    applied in my trade;because,I have proven them to be the best.When the RIDGID name was on it I came to trust that I am buying a top quality tool.Obviously, I still have every reason to believe that. I just have to be very carefull now that I am actualy buying a true RIDGID product. please post this letter if for no other
    reason to give the honest, hard working trades man a heads-up. Thank you .

[ 01-04-2005, 09:10 AM: Message edited by: Norm ]

wouldnt be surprised if fake ridgid pipe wrenches would come out later in the market.. china makes a lot of fake branded tools..

Comment