X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sump Pumps, what to buy?

Hi to all! This is my first time here and I am in the process of buying a new sump for a new installation in my basement. I have read a lot about sump pumps and their installations, so now I know, after some measurements and calculations, that I have a TDH (Total Dynamic Head) of 45 ft, the vertical head is barely less than 10 ft. So I am looking for a pump that will work well and confortably with the 45 Ft TDH, so I came to the RIDGID website looking for performance charts per model, and guess what they don't have them, they only show a generic graph with no information.

Can somebody help me here? I need to know what would be the right HP pump, 1/4HP, 1/3HP, or 1/2HP for that 45 Ft TDH?

As you can see by my user name I am a Do It Yourself kind of guy, I enjoy doing this kind of projects myself, but I also want to do it right the first time.

Thanks to all for your comments and help.

Homeowner_DIY,

Welcome, while I too am relatively new to the site I have been in the piping industry for three decades. You are certainly on the right track by determining head pressure. But there are other determinations to consider when deciding what brand and what type of pump to install.

First and foremost, stay away from the cheap imported garbage. The 30 or 40 bucks you saved will be meaningless the first sleepless night of heavy rain wondering if the pump will do its job.