X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Apprentice mistakes

This thread is for all of you who have a story to share about an apprentice (yourself or someone else) who made a mistake on a job that really made you look silly or cost you a lot of money. Please note - Safety mistakes are no laughing matter. Maybe next time we see our apprentice getting ready to do something that one of y'all have learned from we can save ourselves a headache.

I'll go first - When i was an apprentice i was in a customer's bathroom with my boss after we had just replaced something on a toilet. I was squatted down near a sink watching my boss finish up - we both stood up at the same time and i heard a crack and a pop come from behind me. My belt had caught on the corner of one of those cultured marble sinks/countertop one peice deal. It snapped off the whole corner. Fortunately we found a perfect match for the countertop for $150.00 and i got the priviledge of installing it on my day off.

Apprentice mistake

I had just been assigned my journeyman and it was my first day on the job. We were plumbing a new development. there was a problem beneath the slab in the wasteline that went to the street. My journeyman asked me to break through the slab and find the pipe. with all of the enthusiasm and energy that only a teenager can have I broke through the concrete and the wasteline with a sledge hammer and cold chisel... I got my journeyman showed him what I had done and he showed me how to repair ABS pipe.

Comment

mistakes made by "someone i know" as an apprentice.
      Dont get me started.

Installing a control valve in a cold water feed to a house.First time brazing only the downsream side.Result - flood.
      Second time installing valve backward.Result -no water.

Connecting toilet suites to the hot supply in the adjacent duct.Warm in winter!