Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best Electric Drain Cleaner for Smaller Jobs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Electric Drain Cleaner for Smaller Jobs?

I manage about 100 units (apartments). I have been using a Ridgid K-40 for the past several years to handle clogged tubs and sinks. I have actually been fairly disappointed at the quality of the machine as several parts of it have broken or fallen apart. This past week, something in the eletrical system died and the machine won't work at all. I'd like to replace it with something and I'm looking at the General Super V, the Ridgid drill type, the Ridgid K-50 and the Milwaukee drill type. I need a machine that is portable (i.e. a guy can carry up 5 flights of stairs without getting a hernia..the K-40 was at the absolute upper limit in terms of weight), powerful, reliable, sturdy and that can handle at least two cable sizes and ideally one that can change cables quickly. Self/power feeding would be nice, but one guy told me to stay away from self-feeding with any smaller machine. Also, the machine needs to be easily operated by just one guy. I don't need a machine that will also handle the sewer lines as I'll call a local plumber for that. Finally, how can I get my K-40 fixed? Many thanks.

Originally posted by JLNYC