X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your Favorite Type of Level

Just looking for some reassurance on a purchase today. Bought a 48" Johnson Laminated American Hardwood Brass Bound level (Model 748-LC-12). It was cheaper than the aluminum box beam and came with a case. Bought it primarily for use on building my deck soon, but will definitely use it afterwards. Longer means a better reading, or so I understand it.

After doing some follow up reading (yes, I read before the purchase but it was quite some time ago) I found that wood levels are used primarily in the masonry trades. So, came on here and did a search for your opinions and found nothing. Figured I'd start the thread...

So what's your favorite level?

Re: Your Favorite Type of Level

Stabila

Comment

Heh, that didn't take long. Knew that name would pop up quick. If I was a pro, definitely would've forked over the cash for one.

Comment

I'll second Stabila, I like the electronic ones in particular

http://www.stabila.com/main.taf?p=1,1,6,3

Level by tone is a great feature.

Comment

My favorite level is a 9" Empire topeto level.know its small, but works well for my needs.I heard a tip on another fourm that you could tape a torpeto level onto a strait peice of wood and have a long level,but I havent tried this.

Comment

I have used a Stabila for years, but I also use several Swansons including a 6' for doors and have had no problems, these are all metal levels. When in question I just check the level of each to varify accuracy, and go on.

Comment

I like stabila and master level, but my favorite is my plumb-it extendable level. It extends from 4' to almost 11' and is primarily used for plumbing studs in framing. It replaces a plumb-bob and the second person on a ladder for this task.