Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Construction Costs

Hi Everyone,

My wife and I are going to have a custom home built on our property in the next year or two. I work in the finance industry and, for some time, I have been trying to track down some sort of construction data/index that I could monitor to see the trend in construction costs.

I live in the Central Florida area and we are looking to build around a 3000 sq' home for our growing family. When we started developing the floor plans about a year ago, the avg cost per sq' ranged from $100 - $150. I have not talked to any of the local builders recently to gauge the current costs, but could only assume that the costs to build have dropped somewhat due to the home inventory increase and decline in demand.

Can anyone provide me a 101 on what I should be looking for, or any other tips? Is there anything that I can monitor to stay abreast of construction costs? Is it more expensive to build one story or two? Does the avg cost per sq' foot include total square footage, or only air-conditioned?

I could go on and on, but want to make this somewhat of a quick read. Thanks in advance for any information...

Brad
    "If you're gonna hoot with the owls, you've got to soar with the eagles!"

Re: New Construction Costs

hi
    with the recent slump in house prices in fla ,why build ?.
    there are tons of houses on sale at below market .2 hardest hit areas in the subprime is "stockton calif, and florida .

Comment

Give it another year or two and you should even do better then now....
      Great Link for a Construction Owner/Tradesmen, and just say Garager sent you....

http://www.contractorspub.com

A good climbing rope will last you 3 to 5 years, a bad climbing rope will last you a life time !!!

Comment