Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bathroom gets complicated - proceed or no?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bathroom gets complicated - proceed or no?

I'm new to the forum and new to DIY in general. I was planning on replacing the tile in my girlfriends' bathroom upon moving in with her, but upon initial investigation the bathroom was built poorly and there's plenty of water damage around the tub that's evident without much searching.

I love learning how to build and fix but must admit that I have very little experience. My questions are:

1.Am I dooming myself to a failed bathroom project and possibly, relationship with my girl by going forward on this?

2.Is there a compromise of self & professional labor that I could utilize like: I'll remove the current tile and board to expose the studs and plumbing, then have a professional check the pipes and install hardy board. Then once that's up I could do the tiling and finish work?

3.I have very resourceful friends who've done a lot of projects on their own house - should I take the plunge with their help and enjoy the experience of learning on the job (insert laughter from pros now).

Any wisdom for a wide-eyed newbie would be appreciated and most likely taken to heart.

Re: Bathroom gets complicated - proceed or no?

There is a lot of satisfaction in doing a project yourself. However, you stated that there was a lot of water damage. Water promotes mold and mold is not good.

Also, if your week in the remodeling area I would suggest to pay for a remodeler contractor to come in and do the work. Your girlfriend will be most pleased. Also, it'll guarantee that your job gets done quickly.

I don't mean to scare you off on your project, but when it comes to certain rooms, you better know what your doing, kitchens and baths fit that criteria...