Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Termite Prevention and others

Termite injection preinstall system...

Who can tell me more about this. We do not have termites in our area, however we do get some carpenter ants. Now this system that I have limited knowledge on, will run thru the new build in the wall. This is a very small tube that releases pesticide I would presume thru slots or drip holes. The company that installs this will come back annually and add more pesticide, would be my guess.

I wanna learn more about this, but I was wondering if anybody has dealt with this. Does the house have a continuous smell in it" Does it damage any drywall, or the insulation if a slot or hole was to big (a defect). So what are the pros and cons here with this set up? Would it work for carpenter ants and spiders?
    Great Link for a Construction Owner/Tradesmen, and just say Garager sent you....

http://www.contractorspub.com

A good climbing rope will last you 3 to 5 years, a bad climbing rope will last you a life time !!!

Re: Termite Prevention and others

In New York State that system would be illegal. You may not treat unless there are signs of an active infestation. It is my understanding that when dealing with termites the injected chemicals don't kill the termites it only causes them to go someplace else and build a nest. The only exception that I know of is you may treat with sprayed-on borax for prevention of powder post beetles. I would be concerned about ground water contamination with a continuous chemical drip especially if a well was the water supply. In New York wells must be a minimum of 50 feet away from any area treated for termites.

As far as I know re carpenter ants, I have always been told remove the source of moisture and the ants will leave. I once had them in a sliding closet door in my bedroom. No moisture there, so how salient the advice is I don't know.