X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beam

For a back porch, I have a spam of 18'. Will a double (2) 2x10s Douglas #2 will serve the purpose or 2= 2x12s?

I appreciate the input.

Thanks.

Re: Beam

I am not an engineer and I am using a small beam calculator for this information, so use at your own risk.

first to figure a beam one should have some idea of the weight it needs to carry, and the possible additional loads, such as snow loads and such, so with out that information all one is doing is guessing, also one should know the allowable deflection that is acceptable after loading,

http://www.awc.org/technical/spantables/tutorial.htm
    the beam section for 18 footers, you will need to know the Fb value or extreme fiber stress in bending. per wood species and grade, found in the first section,
    http://www.awc.org/pdf/WSDD/Span.pdf

http://www2.wwpa.org/TECHGUIDE/Overv...8/Default.aspx

there is a basic wood fiber stress chart in the 4 section of http://www.awc.org/technical/spantables/tutorial.htm which is posted above,

But if that is a large enough beam for your needs I can not answer, as there is way to much information missing to say yes or no to it, as there is nothing even suggesting as to what it holding up, (my guess is it a roof deck) but how much, what is your snow loading in your area, type of roofing, will there be a ceiling and so on,

I have a little slide rule calculator and using it, an 18 foot span, beam made 4x10 Douglas fir lumber with a deflection of 1/360 would be able to have about 88 pounds per foot of capacity,

a lesser strength species beam of 4x12 on 18 foot span, my calculator says slightly over 100 pounds of evenly loaded per foot, of beam, same 1/360 deflection,

if it was the same in Douglas fir (the calculator has larch in the same line as there are two Douglas firs on the calculator the other is Douglas fir -south, which would about in the middle of the two examples,)