Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse

How To Post Images

Want to know the how to upload images to your posts? Image Posting Tutorial
See more
See less

What is the best way to match spray/knock-down drywall texture?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best way to match spray/knock-down drywall texture?

I removed a portion of an interior wall in my garage in order to make room for my lawn tractor. I want to build a wall to connect to the existing wall and have questions about matching the texture on the walls. The drywaller sprayed the walls and knocked down the spatter after it set up. Is the best way to tape and mud the corners and then re-spray and knock down?

Re: What is the best way to match spray/knock-down drywall texture?

Hire a pro to match the texture.Realistically its impossible for anyone but a pro to match a texture.Im not a pro but pretty good at it and its extremely difficult for me to get close even with years of practice.
    Sam

Comment

I am also not a pro at this, but I have done a few knock downs and tried to patch jobs. I have seen this older gent do a few patch up jobs and I must say he was damn good at it. The one trick that stood out, was do not make a box/square look before you start spraying. Irregular lines following the low spots on the wall, will give it a nicer finished look. But no matter what, it will still be noticeable. Only one way to stop a patch look, and that is to do the entire wall or ceiling all over again, strip it down and redo.
      Great Link for a Construction Owner/Tradesmen, and just say Garager sent you....

http://www.contractorspub.com

A good climbing rope will last you 3 to 5 years, a bad climbing rope will last you a life time !!!

Comment

a lot of experience, and some luck. a irregular area like said is better, wall to wall,