Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sealing osb

Hi Everyone!
    I'm new to the Forum and was hoping that maybe I could get some helpful tips. I am going to be building a small 12' x 16' shop to do my woodworking in and have a question concerning OSB. Money is limited, so I was forced to buy 7/16" Exposure 1 OSB for the exterior walls and am now thinking I might have made a big mistake. I know I should have went with T1- 11 but it was $22.00 a sheet more and I just can't afford that. Anyway, I know OSB shouldn't be left exposed, so is there something out there that I can seal it with that is reasonably priced and will last till I can afford something better? I know people paint it and it lasts a few years, I just want to make sure it doesn't fall apart before I have time to invest in something better to cover the walls with. I'd appreciate any and all suggestions!
    Rob

Re: Sealing osb

Originally posted by roblj65 View Post
    Hi Everyone!
    I'm new to the Forum and was hoping that maybe I could get some helpful tips. I am going to be building a small 12' x 16' shop to do my woodworking in and have a question concerning OSB. Money is limited, so I was forced to buy 7/16" Exposure 1 OSB for the exterior walls and am now thinking I might have made a big mistake. I know I should have went with T1- 11 but it was $22.00 a sheet more and I just can't afford that. Anyway, I know OSB shouldn't be left exposed, so is there something out there that I can seal it with that is reasonably priced and will last till I can afford something better? I know people paint it and it lasts a few years, I just want to make sure it doesn't fall apart before I have time to invest in something better to cover the walls with. I'd appreciate any and all suggestions!
    Rob
    Sealing might work for a short time. Why not get some 15 or 30# felt paper and install it on the walls for now.

Comment

will the #15 or 30 felt keep the osb from getting wet?

Comment