X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Airless Paint Spayer

I know RIDGID doesn't make on, or at least not to my knowledge, but does anyone have any suggestions on which brand/make is a good reliable unit that can be purchased without costing an arm and a leg (I would like to keep the arm to hold on to the spray gun), thanks in advance.

Re: Airless Paint Spayer

I have a spraytech model 1720 I bought at lowes some years ago.I admit I'm not a professional painter and it doesnt get used all day everyday but it has sprayed 100's of gallons of paint and been very reliable.It was about 500 bucks and they do have less expensive models of the same brand.I have taken good care of it as I do all my tools clean it well use the pump saver and the seperating oil like the manual says.

Comment

How difficult is the cleaning up?

Comment

I have used Graco airless paint sprayers and would have no problem recommending them...

examples..... ->
        http://www.o-geepaint.com/Sprayers/Graco.shtml

"How difficult is the cleaning up?"

It depends what you're spraying?

Water base (latex etc.) is fairly easy...

Oils and solvents take more time....

I used to spray lots of water based paints and stains and a typical cleanup went something like this.....

Unscrew the tip (zip-tip) off the gun and drop it into a clean bucket of water...

Unhook my 5 gal bucket of stain or paint from the machine and carefully lift out the suction tube with strainer and transfer to a five gal bucket 3/4 full of clean water...

Turn the pump back on and rest the gun on the edge of the five gal paint bucket, turn the pressure down a bit the pull the trigger while aiming at the inside side (make sense?) of bucket so splashing etc. is avoided... do this until you see water starting to come out of the gun (this clears the paint out of the line and puts it back into your paint bucket)