Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Window Jamb Extensions

Hello,

We have a little cabin up north. We are slowly renovating the entire thing. We are replacing evey window. Our contractor is doing a wonderful job but the labor cost is something that I want to avoid by doing the rest of the project myself. I have never done anything to a window except to open and close one and occasionally wash one. I am comfortable with DIY projects and have no trouble attemtping things.

I need to know how to make and install a jamb extension on a new window. Its's a vinyl framed window already installed and in place. The interior sashes are pine. The cabin is old and very little is square and plumb. The finish material on the walls wil be 3/4 #2 tongue and groove pine so the extensions will need to come out far enough to meet that. I have never done this before ever. Should i build the extension in place or build the box first and set it in place and shim? I really need a very simple plain explanation hw to do this.

Could someone give me a good explaination how to do this or at least maybe point me in a direction where I can find the information? I have searched all over the internet and haven't really come up with anything that helps.

Thank you in advance

Re: Window Jamb Extensions

Tom5151 - I see you've posted your question in several forums, so I'll respond to this second post you made in "DIY Chatroom":

"There are no jambs currently. Just the vinyl frame. I would be butting the outside edge of the box right up against the vinyl window frame. Given that, I cannot nail into the vinyl so should i nail through the extension into the rough 2X4 framing? Do I just nail right through the shims? Do I shim the bottom of the extension or does that just get nailed directly to the sill plate?"
    http://www.diychatroom.com/f14/windo...ensions-53595/

Yes you'll be nailing into the 2x4s.
    Yes you'll be nailing through the shims.