X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much would you estimate this?

First off, im shane, and im 18. I've been doing residential electrical work for 8 years, and I also have my own lawncare/landscaping buisness. Any ways, im looking at houses in my area, First off, almost all the work would be done by me. The house here-http://www.zillow.com/homedetails/101-Leslie-Ln-Spartanburg-SC-29301/2121581757_zpid/
    would basicly be gutted and completely redesigned, and have a second floor put on the main part of the home.

thanks.

Re: How much would you estimate this?

the very first order of business is to see if that municipality will allow you to pull the necessary permits as an unlicensed contractor. the second floor addition will require an engineering study to ensure the additional loading and support is sufficient.
    ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Comment

My first order of business is to be suspicious of any 18 year old who claims to have 8 years of residential electrical work. (putting a new plug on a lamp cord doesn't count)

Comment

your basically building a new building on top of the old, and when said and done only really keeping the original floor and walls,

building a second story is a lot more than building the first, because ever thing on the out side is ladder or scaffolding, and climbing,

in some ways by the time one does that your nearly better off building new from the ground up, if you totally gut the original house, reside it and rebuild the entire insides,

framing the house is usually the easy part in many ways,

you to be legal would need to do all the lead paint abatement and it looks like ever thing there is lead paint,

what is in the upper part, rooms or just attic? a nice restoration could be a good choice,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~