X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paint

My house is almost a year old, and finally got all the nail pops and cracks taken care of through the builder.

So the first room I just started painting is the nursery (I'm having twins), and I forgot how much I HATE painting. So it was either splurge on Sherwin Williams or Benjamin Moore and not have much leftover to buy things for the nursery, or it was buy a combination of Glidden, Behr, and Olympic, and have money left over to buy things I need for the nursery.

4 colors are involved here

Glidden (HD) - Flat white ceiling & white semi gloss for trim

Behr (HD) - Satin cream for upper wall & Satin for brown stripe around the room

Olympic (lowes) - Satin Mauve for bottom half of wall

What does everyone think on those 3 brands?

When I was picking this paint out the other day in HD, this guy asked he if he could help me and I said "sure".

I noticed everything we were looking at it was Glidden products. So finally I turned to him to ask...and as I asked I saw his shirt. He was a salesman for Glidden (very knowledgeable btw) and he explained all of their products and Behr.

So I told this guy, "let me think about it...thanks for your help". When he left I broke out my phone in the isle and was doing reviews right there on Glidden, and I was satisfied with what I read. So after 10 minutes of looking online, I went back up to him and asked him what I needed and he pointed me in the right direction.

I know one thing...I'll be hiring out for some of these rooms cause I don't have a scaffold for entryway and painting just flat out sucks!

This reminds me of a story...

When I got out of the Navy, dad wanted me back to work, and I wanted to take a 6 month break. He said "well you're not gonna just sit around, you need a job". So my buddy asked if I wanted to work as a painter like he was doing, and I said "sure, how hard can painting be?".