Watering Down New Roof...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Watering Down New Roof...

My neighbor is getting a new roof. Why are the installers routinely watering down the roof before and after installing the shingles? It's partly cloudy and 85 degrees.

You want to work on a hot tin roof.

I've never seen it done as it makes a mess.

Are they stripping the old shingles?

Rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Originally posted by PLUMBER RICK View Post
      You want to work on a hot tin roof.

I've never seen it done as it makes a mess.

Are they stripping the old shingles?

Rick.

Yes they totally stripped the roof. We had a very bad hail storm several weeks ago so everybody in my neighborhood is getting a new roof. I just never seen anyone frequently water the roof during installation. I would think this would create problems???

Comment

I'm NOT a professional roofer, but in my past, I've helped on a number of asphalt shingle jobs with friends and relatives and have done a couple of smaller shingle jobs on my own house. I've always lived here in the northeast (if that makes a difference). Is this an asphalt-shingle roof or something different?

From my experience, you want that roof to be as dry as possible (like completely dry). Whenever I've worked on a roof, I've removed the old shingles (I don't like to shingle over what may be existing), usually having to also remove the old tar paper (felt) and getting down to the bare wood. Often sections of that might need to be replaced, if rotted, warped, or otherwise not in good shape.

New felt paper is installed with a generous overlap, and in some cases I've seen two layers applied (ice damming here in the NE), and then the shingles laid down But through it all, the roof must be dry and some effort is made to keep it that way! When we leave the job, we make sure the unshingle areas are tarp covered securely to keep out any sudden rain or heavy dew from the night.