X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seesnake Reel Recommendation

I have a full size color seesnake that I use and will continue to use on 3 to 6 inch lines.

I've been getting away with running it into 2 inch lines but turns are sometimes difficult and I've had a few close call "oh crap, I'm stuck" moments going through cast iron. I'm tired of being worried about what kind of access I'll have while on the way to a job.

It's time for a new addition to the tool family.

So I was thinking of getting the mini since I've worked with it in the past. I know it works great for 2 inch.

However I will rarely need to go over 50 feet, much less 100 feet, so 200 is unnecessary. I've never damaged a camera cable to the point of repair in 15 years, so I'm not worried about the extra cable.

Now I'm leaning towards the microreel because there is only a slight difference in cable thickness and camera head diameter.

I have no experience with the microreel.

How much difference does the .04" thinner microreel cable, and the .20" smaller diameter microreel camera head make in the ability to push the camera through compared to the mini seesnake?

I also like that you can hook up the microexplorer for quick inspections with the microreel. Also add microdrain in future.

The most important thing to me though, is the ability to get the camera through 2 inch cast iron lines. I'm willing to pay more for the mini.

I should get a demo.

Thanks ahead of time for your responses.

Lenny

Pronounced A-Bear Drain Care

I know, it doesn't make sense.

http://www.hebertdraincare.com

Re: Seesnake Reel Recommendation

good questions and explanations of your needs

100' or less, then i would go with the microreel.

i have them all and when i can use the microreel, i do as it's much lighter to carry and much smaller to store in the truck.

the standard size seesnake and microreel is a good combo, but so is the standard and mini.