X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sonde or scout not working?

Just after some advice on my mini seesnake which has to date performed really well and I am just concerned now as the scout would not find the sonde when I held the scout above the camera head it was just like it was not on.

I have been using this for two or three years now with no real problems.

It happened the other day and then on a second attempt later it worked fine but I didn't do anything diferent from what I always do.

Does anyone know what could be wrong and is there any tests I can do to rule out either the scout locator or the sonde in the camera head?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Phil.

Re: sonde or scout not working?

Usually it's the sonde is going bad, you could rent a scout to rule out your scout or just use your scout to find a power line because if the scout works on 60hz then it probably works on 512 for the sonde. But it's probably the flex sonde they go bad they take a beating in that spring.
    Seattle Drain Service

Comment

Have you run any "air tests" just lay the camera head on the ground and walk around to see what the signal does. Also.. do you see the wavy lines on the monitor when you turn the sonde on? I would lean toward the sonde being the issue. Give our tech service dept a call and they will be able to give you a better idea of what might be wrong.

Tech Service = 1-800-519-3456

Josh

Comment

Originally posted by epc View Post
        ...is there any tests I can do to rule out either the scout locator or the sonde in the camera head?
        When you activate the sonde two things happen:
        - The monitor sends a signal that tells the sonde to turn ON, and
        - The sonde LED and/or on-screen icon lights up