SR20 Not seeing buried power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SR20 Not seeing buried power

I've been using the SR20 for a few years now and I ran into a situation that is causing me to have concerns about whether or not I'm providing good info to our customers:
    I was scanning at a location where I know for a fact there are 3 large buried power conduits (PVC ~4" at about 2'). I know exactly where they are because I was there when they were put in and I have pictures. Each line was pulling 4,5 and 2KW, respectively, during the 60Hz scan. Lower right was at about 1800 and it wasn't maxed. The only signal I picked up was about 2' away and parallel. I believe this is an old exterior light run. The 3 power mains didn't show up on any scan (60Hz, low/high freq, omni). If I ping ground I can trace it. However, that isn't always an option.
    My concern is that if I'd been doing this for a customer, with no pre-existing knowledge or access to transmit on ground, I'd never have seen it and someone could have gotten seriously hurt or killed. Any thoughts on why it wouldn't show?

time to get out the dowsing rods,
    Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
    attributed to Samuel Johnson
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    PUBLIC NOTICE: Due to recent budget cuts, the rising cost of electricity, gas, and oil...plus the current state of the economy............the light at the end of the tunnel, has been turned off.

Comment