X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the board

I'm still trying to figure out how I made it to this message board. I was looking for for Drain machine reviews(they just don't exsist on the internet), and I think I stumbled onto you guys here at Ridgid.

I'm a Plumbing & Heating contractor (part owner), who works in the family business, and the main percentage of our work is Plumbing. I've been doing Plumbing since I've been 12 years old (now 34), and probably have 10 years of limited drain cleaning experience.

Limited experience, cause over the years, we just didn't have time to get to the drain calls.

We have 2 K-50's (1 brand new..just bought it) and another K -something (it's a larger sectional).

We are currently looking to get a drum and that's part of the reason why I am here.

Talking with other Plumber's in the supply house, some swear by Electric eel..some General..the other's Ridgid. Those are the BIG 3 I hear in our area, and would like to hear some reviews from some of you guys. I'm not talking about specific models..more of an "over-all" consenus of which manufactor you guys think make the best drain equipment.

I also see you guys talking about the K-60..but not much love for the K-50. IN my entire Plumbing career, we only have 1 account (commercial building) in where we had to take an elevator and go to the roof to clear a drain.
    I never had to hit a roof on a residential home yet to clear a drain/stack, and I'm curious as to "why" some of you get so many calls to do so? I understand leaves and maybe nests getting into the vent..but I'm at a loss for anything else.
    Is this because some of you guys live in area's that have slabbed homes with no basement's?

In certain area's of Pa, you will see heavily coded area's, with lot's of Back venting, and sometimes difficulty navigating stacks.

Anyways, I've been lurking for the past 2 days, and I've already picked up a few tips and tricks!!