Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• starting a drain cleaning business in NJ

Greetings all:

I am new to this forum and I wanted to get some insight on some issues I'm debating on getting myself into. I've been doing plumbing for 5 years now. I also completed my 4 years of state required apprenticeship classes, and currently working to finish my "on the job" hours in order to take the NJ Master Plumbers exam.

I was told that in the state of NJ a Plumber's license NOT required to run a drain cleaning business. I was not sure if this is a fact, and that is why I am posting this thread.

Along with that issue, my father has a active plumber's licence, however he's not letting me work under it because he fears costs of insuring himself and other expenses that he's unaware of. I was wondering what actions are needed to be done in order to get a company off the ground.

How do I go about copywriting a company name?
    What costs are insurances to have the company?
    If working under my father's licence, what steps would I have to take to insure myself of any mishaps / damages?
    Cost of LLC / Inc ?

A lot of these thoughts are overwheling as well as very risky. I have all the tools required to make a company work, however I don't know what early steps are needed to begin company growth.

Thank you for your time,

-R. (New Jersey)

Re: starting a drain cleaning business in NJ

Welcome to the forum 3 7's,

Lot of guys here know NJ.I got nothin' for ya(west coast).
    ENJOY

ADAM

Comment

Welcome to the forum...i would definitely ask around. I hear NJ is pretty tough with licesnes on anything..I did work for a drain cleaning co in NJ for 5 yrs, they were not Plumbers...and did not do any drain work in NJ at all...everything was done in Phila and surrounding areas...

Greg
      The History of Sanitary Sewers Good site on the history of sanitary sewers and cleaners

www.thedrainsquad.net Our website

Comment