X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cable Repairs

How do You repair a broken 3/4" iner core cable? I haven't broke one ,but good to know! I am a very experienced welder. Mild steel Allum. stainless ,ect.
    I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Re: Cable Repairs

with a 3/4 cable splicer
    http://www.all-clear-sewer.com/

Comment

You could use a 3/4 inch splicer or you could put new ends on it. I usually like to do ends. If it is kinked severly I will cut out the kinked section, the grind the end of the cut flat. The cables I use come from the company I work for and have a plastic inner-core, so I try to grab it with a pair of needle nose and pull about a half inch out to make room for my splice. I then use loctite cleaner and clean the cable a bit and add green loctite to the screw in part of my spartan ends. Screw the ends till they are as flush a possible with the cut that I ground flat earlier. I then just do a small spot weld at the greatest distance from the end/cable, take it back to the table grinder and smooth out the weld so as the cable can feed easily through the power feed.

Billytwohatz

Comment

Thank you both
        I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Comment

I use the Ridgid 3/4 innercore cable on my K-7500. I always just cut out the bad spot and use a 3/4 splicer. Works well as long as you dont try to run any more then 125' of cable in the drun and if the splice is at least 25' from the end of 125'. I like to have my splices as deep in the drum as I can. I cut my cables with a chop saw so it`s ready for a splicer as soon as it`s cut.
          I wont repair a broken cable as if it broke once it will brake again. I only cut out kinks and splice. I dont use loctite either, just a spot weld on the repair or new ends