X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dry Ice Blasting.....

Hi everyone. I am an engineering student. I read something called dry ice blasting and hazardous waste disposal while browsing net. Well I don’t know why, but I am curious to know about it. I know about traditional labor intensive methods like scrapers, wire brushes, sand blasting and pressure washing. I know dry ice is basically solid form of CO2, but I have no clue about this dry ice blasting and industrial cleaning .
    Can somebody throw some light on this or at least suggest some site where I can find some info on this.

Sam

Re: Dry Ice Blasting.....

all i can think of is there is no cleaning media to clean up afterward.

sort of like magic. it just disappears into the air.

interesting idea.

rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Try some searches for NACE (National Association of Corrosion Engineers www.nace.org) and coatings removal in the aviation industry, etc. Dry Ice as well as Sodium Bicarbonate have been used for years to remove paint from aluminum aircraft skins. Both have been subject to scrutiny over the resulting byproducts (both have some tendency to combine with contaminants on the skin surface which at times can result in a corrosive solution getting trapped in the faying surfaces where the metal is fastened, Both are also results of trying to get a more environmentally friendly process.
      Bottom line, like all processes, there are pros and cons. Regardless of the blast media, you still have to deal with the stuff you blasted off the surface.

Good luck in your search.

Go
      Practicing at practical wood working

Comment

John,